Gemini 3.7 Flash vs Claude: Full Comparison
Daniel Okonkwo
Senior ML Engineer

TLDRGemini 3.7 Flash costs $0.75/$3.75 per 1M tokens and matches Claude Sonnet 5 on FrontierCode 1.1. See benchmarks, pricing, and which to use.
Gemini 3.7 Flash at $0.75/$3.75: Comparing It With Claude Sonnet 5
Gemini 3.7 Flash, released by Google on August 13, 2026, is a coding-focused workhorse model that matches Claude Sonnet 5 on real engineering benchmarks at roughly half to a third of the cost — priced at $0.75 per 1M input tokens and $3.75 per 1M output tokens versus Claude Sonnet 5's $2.00/$10.00. The two models are close on coding, but the right pick depends on the workload: Gemini 3.7 Flash wins on price and enterprise automation, while Claude Sonnet 5 holds an edge on knowledge work. Head-to-head data beyond launch is still thin, so treat the coding parity as strong early signal rather than settled fact.
Key Takeaways
- Coding is effectively a tie. Cognition's own FrontierCode 1.1 run inside Devin put Gemini 3.7 Flash at 56.3 and Claude Sonnet 5 at 56.2, per Poonam Soni citing Cognition, Aug 14, 2026.
- Gemini 3.7 Flash is 2.5x–3x cheaper. $0.75/$3.75 versus Claude Sonnet 5's $2.00/$10.00, confirmed on Google's model card.
- Claude Sonnet 5 leads on knowledge work. GDPVal-AA v2 Elo of 1598 versus Gemini 3.7 Flash's 1525 (Google model card).
- Gemini 3.7 Flash dominates enterprise automation. AutomationBench 30.4% versus Claude Sonnet 5's 10.7% (Google model card).
- The pricing is introductory. The 50% discount runs through the end of 2026; a post-2026 doubling is a community claim, not official.
- Independent testing is early. Most non-Google benchmarks come from launch-day partners; broad third-party replication is not yet published.
Gemini 3.7 Flash vs Claude Sonnet 5 at a Glance
| Dimension | Gemini 3.7 Flash | Claude Sonnet 5 |
|---|---|---|
| Input price (per 1M tokens) | $0.75 (introductory, through EOY 2026) | $2.00 |
| Output price (per 1M tokens) | $3.75 (introductory, through EOY 2026) | $10.00 |
| FrontierCode 1.1 Main (Google card) | 43.6% | 42.7% |
| FrontierCode 1.1 (Cognition/Devin run) | 56.3 | 56.2 |
| DeepSWE v1.1 | 65.3% | 53.8% |
| AutomationBench | 30.4% | 10.7% |
| GDPVal-AA v2 (knowledge work, Elo) | 1525 | 1598 |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index | 56 | 55 |
| Context window | 1,048,576 tokens (1M) | Not yet confirmed |
| Released | Aug 13, 2026 | unverified — no public number yet |
All Gemini and Claude figures above come from Google's DeepMind model card unless noted; the Cognition run is a separate third-party benchmark.
Pricing: Where Gemini 3.7 Flash Wins Clearly
Gemini 3.7 Flash costs $0.75 per 1M input tokens and $3.75 per 1M output tokens, confirmed in Google's launch blog and by Logan Kilpatrick. Claude Sonnet 5 sits at $2.00 input and $10.00 output per Google's own comparison card. That gap makes Gemini 3.7 Flash roughly 2.5x cheaper on input and 2.6x cheaper on output.
Alvaro Cintas summarized the community read plainly: "gemini 3.7 flash is half the price of 3.6 flash and 2-3x cheaper than sonnet 5." Bindu Reddy put the same delta at "3x cheaper than Sonnet," Aug 14, 2026.
Two caveats matter. First, this is an introductory rate scheduled to expire at the end of 2026. Simon Willison flagged the oddity: the model is "scheduled to double in price on December 31, 2026." Second, an even lower third-party rate of $0.38/$1.88 was reported on one aggregator, per Legit (@legit_api), Aug 13, 2026 — treat that as a temporary promotional number, not a base rate.
Benchmarks: Coding Parity, Split Elsewhere
On coding, the two models converge. The strongest independent signal comes from Cognition, maker of Devin, which ran its own FrontierCode 1.1 benchmark grading models on quality and mergeability of real engineering tasks. Gemini 3.7 Flash landed at 56.3, "essentially tied with Claude Sonnet 5's 56.2," per Poonam Soni relaying Cognition's result.
Google's own model card tells a consistent story on the coding axis (43.6% vs 42.7% on FrontierCode Main) and a wider Gemini lead on longer-horizon engineering — DeepSWE v1.1 at 65.3% versus Claude Sonnet 5's 53.8%. On enterprise automation the gap is large: AutomationBench 30.4% versus 10.7%.
The picture flips on knowledge work. Claude Sonnet 5 scores 1598 Elo on GDPVal-AA v2 against Gemini 3.7 Flash's 1525. That is the clearest dimension where Claude Sonnet 5 still leads. Our Claude Sonnet 5 deep dive covers where Anthropic positioned that model.
One honesty note: most of these numbers are Google's launch claims. Chubby (@kimmonismus) explicitly called them "Google's own launch claims," and no independent replication of the agentic scores is published yet. The Cognition run is the exception, since it was produced by a third party on their own harness.
Capabilities and Context Limits
Gemini 3.7 Flash carries a 1,048,576-token (1M) input context window and a 65,536-token output limit, confirmed on Google's Gemini API docs and DeepMind model card. It is natively multimodal (text, image, audio, video, PDF input; text output) and supports thinking levels of LOW, MEDIUM, and HIGH — MINIMAL is not available. Claude Sonnet 5's context window is not specified in this comparison's source material, so a direct number-to-number context comparison is not yet possible.
For agentic use, low latency compounds. As Rohan Paul noted, "one task can stack many sequential model calls," which is where a fast, cheap worker model changes the economics. Shubham Saboo demonstrated exactly this pattern — using Claude Fable 5 as advisor, GPT-5.6 as orchestrator, and Gemini 3.7 Flash "as the worker." If you want to experiment with a comparable frontier chat model through an API, Claude Sonnet 5 is available on kie.ai as a direct point of reference.
Which One Should You Use?
Choose Gemini 3.7 Flash if:
- Cost per task is the binding constraint — it is 2.5x–3x cheaper than Claude Sonnet 5.
- You run high-volume agent loops where latency and price beat theoretical peaks (Ashutosh Shrivastava's read on day-to-day loops).
- Your workload is enterprise workflow automation, where its AutomationBench lead (30.4% vs 10.7%) is largest.
Choose Claude Sonnet 5 if:
- Knowledge-dense reasoning is central — it leads GDPVal-AA v2 (1598 vs 1525 Elo).
- You need a model with an established track record over a three-week-old release.
- Your stack already standardizes on Anthropic tooling and you value consistency over marginal cost savings.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Gemini 3.7 Flash better than Claude Sonnet 5?
Gemini 3.7 Flash matches Claude Sonnet 5 on coding benchmarks like FrontierCode 1.1 (43.6% vs 42.7% on Google's card; a tied 56.3 vs 56.2 in Cognition's own Devin run) and beats it on AutomationBench, while Claude Sonnet 5 leads on knowledge work (GDPVal-AA Elo 1598 vs 1525). The better model depends on whether the task is agentic coding or broad knowledge work.
Is Gemini 3.7 Flash cheaper than Claude?
Yes. Gemini 3.7 Flash costs $0.75 per 1M input tokens and $3.75 per 1M output tokens through end of 2026, versus Claude Sonnet 5's $2.00 input and $10.00 output. That makes Gemini 3.7 Flash roughly 2.5x to 3x cheaper depending on the input/output mix.
Which is better for coding, Gemini 3.7 Flash or Claude Sonnet 5?
For coding they are close. On Cognition's FrontierCode 1.1 benchmark run inside Devin, Gemini 3.7 Flash scored 56.3 and Claude Sonnet 5 scored 56.2, an effective tie, at less than half the cost. Claude Sonnet 5 retains an edge on some knowledge-heavy reasoning tasks.
What is the context window of Gemini 3.7 Flash versus Claude?
Gemini 3.7 Flash has a 1,048,576-token (1M) input context window and 65,536-token output limit per Google's model card. Claude Sonnet 5's context window is not specified in this comparison's source material.
When was Gemini 3.7 Flash released?
Gemini 3.7 Flash was released on August 13, 2026, just three weeks after Gemini 3.6 Flash, via the Gemini API, Google AI Studio, Antigravity, and Gemini Spark.
Does Gemini 3.7 Flash match Claude on agentic tasks?
On AutomationBench, Gemini 3.7 Flash scored 30.4% versus Claude Sonnet 5's 10.7% per Google's model card. On Terminal-bench 2.1 the two are close (85.8% vs 80.4%). Independent replication of these agentic numbers is not yet published.
Will Gemini 3.7 Flash stay cheaper than Claude after 2026?
The $0.75/$3.75 rate is an introductory price scheduled to expire at the end of 2026, after which one community post reports pricing would double. Google has not published an official post-2026 rate, so the long-term comparison with Claude is unconfirmed.
What to Watch Next
Three signals will sharpen this comparison. First, independent replication of Google's agentic and coding benchmarks beyond the single Cognition/Devin run — the current numbers are mostly launch claims. Second, Google's official post-2026 pricing schedule, which determines whether the cost advantage over Claude Sonnet 5 survives past December. Third, sustained-adoption evidence: launch-day availability across Antigravity, Cline, and Devin is broad, but real usage data over weeks, not hours, is what will confirm the "matches Claude at half the cost" verdict.
Building similar coding and agent workflows? On kie.ai you can try Gemini 3.8 Flash, Claude Sonnet 5, and GPT-6 Astra.
About Daniel Okonkwo
Daniel writes about inference systems, model architecture, and what new releases actually change for builders.
View all posts by Daniel Okonkwo